Fiona Wright has won the 2012 Mary Gilmore Award for her collection, Knuckled (Giramondo).  The shortlist and judges’ citations are available here.

Awarded for a first book of poetry published in the preceding two calendar years (until 1998 it was for a first book published in the preceding calendar year). No nominations are required, but judges are grateful for notifications of eligible books.

The judging panel for the 2010/2011 award is David Gilbey (Chair), Derek Motion and Mark Macleod.

Previous Award Winners

2010 Joanna Preston for The Summer King Otago University Press
2008 Nathan Shepherdson for Sweeping the Light Back into the Mirror UQP
2006 David McCooey for Blister Pack Salt Publishing
2004 Michael Brennan The Imageless World Salt Publishing
2002 Geraldine McKenzie for Duty Paperbark Press
2000 Lucy Dougan for Memory Shell Five Islands Press
1998 Emma Lew for The Wild Reply Black Pepper Press
1997 Morgan Yasbincek for Night Reversing Fremantle Arts Centre Press
1996 Jordie Albiston for Nervous Arcs Spinifex Press
1995 Aileen Kelly for Coming Up for Light Pariah Press
1994 Deborah Staines for Now, Millennium Spinifex Press
1993 Jill Jones for The Mask and Jagged Star Hazard Poets
1992 Alison Croggon for This is the Stone Penguin
1991 Jean Kent for Verandahs Hale and Iremonger
1990 Kristopher Rassemussen for In the Name of the Father False Frontiers
1989 Alex Skovron for The Re-arrangement MUP
1988 Judith Beveridge for The Domesticity of Giraffes Black Lightning Press
1987 Jan Owen for Boy with Telescope A and R
1986 Stephen Williams for A Crowd of Voices Pariah Press
1985 Doris Brett for The Truth about Unicorns