The National Executive of the Association for the Study of Australian Literature awards the A.A. Phillips Award as occasion merits in recognition of outstanding contributions to Australian literary scholarship. Any member of the Association may make nominations to the executive at any time.

Previous award winners

  • 2011 Dennis Haskell and Delys Bird for their long period of excellence in the editing of Westerly.
  • 2007 Selina Samuels for her editorship of the four Australian volumes of The Dictionary of Literary Biography (Thompson Gale, 2001-2006).
  • 2003 Professor Elizabeth Webby for her distinguished and foundational role in developing the scholarly infrastructure for the study of Australian literature.
  • 1999 Anna Rutherford for services to Australian Literature, particularly through Kunapipi and Dangaroo Press.
  • 1998 Clem Christesen for services to Australian literature particularly through Meanjin.
  • 1996 Katharine Brisbane for outstanding achievements as both writer and publisher on Australian theatreand drama, especially her work for Currency Press which has published A Companion to Theatre in Australia.
  • 1995 Judith Wright for her long career as poet, critic and activist.
  • 1992 Laurie Hergenhan for services to Australian literature as editor of Australian Literary Studies.
  • 1986 W.H. Wilde, Barry Andrews and Joy Hooton for the Oxford Companion to Australian Literature.

If you would like to contribute to the support of this prize, donations to ASAL’s Public Fund are tax deductible.