To be given to the best book of literary scholarship on an Australian subject published in the preceding two calendar years. Up till 1994 for an outstanding work of literary scholarship by a young or unestablished author (usually a first book). No nominations are required, though ASAL members are invited to propose books for consideration by the judging panel.

Previous Winners

2011   Jointly awarded: David Callahan, Rainforest Narratives: the Work of Janette Turner Hospital (UQP) and John McLaren, Journey Without Arrival: The Life and Writing of Vincent Buckley (ASP).  Link to Judges’ report

2009   Noel Rowe, Ethical Investigations: Essays on Australian Literature and Poetics. Ed. Bernadette Brennan (Vagabond, 2008). Link to Judges’ report

2007   Katherine Barnes, The Higher Self in Christopher Brennan’s Poems: Esotericism, Romanticism, Symbolism (Brill, 2006). Link to Judges’ report

2005   Jointly awarded: Tanya Dalziell, Settler Romance and the Australian Girl (UWA Press, 2004), and Maryrose Casey Creating Frames: Contemporary Indigenous Theatre 1967-1997 (UQP, 2004). Link to Judges’ report

2003   Sylvia Lawson, How Simone de Beauvoir Died in Australia

2001   Gillian Whitlock, The Intimate Empire: Reading Women’s Autobiography.

1999   Helen Gilbert, Sightlines: Race, Gender and Nation in Contemporary Australian Theatre (University of Michigan Press)

1998   David Carter, A Career in Writing:Judah Waten and the cultural politics of a literary career (ASAL Literary Studies)

1997   Paul Carter, The Lie of the Land (Faber)

1996   Richard Fotheringham, In Search of Steele Rudd (UQP)

1995   Patrick Buckridge, The Scandalous Penton (UQP)

1994   Hazel Rowley, Christina Stead (Heinemann)

1993   Peter Kirkpatrick, The Sea Coast of Bohemia (UQP)

1992   Julian Croft,  The Life and Opinions of Tom Collins (UQP)

1991   Cliff Hanna, The Folly of Spring: a study of the poetry of John Shaw Neilson (UQP)

1990   Adam Shoemaker,  Black Words, White Page (UQP)

1989   Susan Sheridan, Christina Stead (Harvester Wheatsheaf)
1988   Paul Carter,  The Road to Botany Bay

1987   Graeme Turner, National Fictions

1986   Susan Magarey,  Unbridling the Tongues of Women

1985   Craig Munro,  Wild Man of Letters

1984   Sylvia Lawson,  The Archibald Paradox

1983   Drusilla Modjeska,  Exiles at Home