On behalf of the Association for the Study of Australian Literature (ASAL), the judging panel announces with pleasure the Short List for the 2013 Australian Literature Society (ALS) Gold Medal.

Luke Carman, An Elegant Young Man (Giramondo)
Hannah Kent, Burial Rites (Picador)
Eleanor Limprecht, What Was Left (Sleepers)
Alex Miller, Coal Creek (A & U)
Christos Tsiolkas, Barracuda (A & U)
Alexis Wright, The Swan Book (Giramondo)

Our thanks go to the publishers for submitting their titles for judging. More than sixty books were submitted, a group that represents both the quality and diversity of Australian literary publishing.

Books were submitted by A & U, Fourth Estate, Fremantle, Giramondo, HarperCollins, Hybrid, John Leonard, Macmillan, NewSouth, Picador, Scribe , Sleepers, Storyworks, Text , UQP, UWA Publishing, Vintage, Wakefield, William Heinemann.

We also extend our thanks to the writers. The excellence of the work submitted made our task difficult, but it was also exciting to experience the depth of talent present in the current Australian literary scene.

The ALS Gold Medal is awarded annually for an outstanding literary work in the preceding calendar year. The medal was inaugurated in the 1920s by the Australian Literature Society, which was founded in Melbourne in 1899.

The winner will be announced at the ASAL annual conference in July 2014.

Yours sincerely

ALS Gold Medal judging panel

Dr Philip Butterss (Chair)
Kelli Rowe
Dr Mandy Treagus

University of Adelaide

The Australian Centre, University of Melbourne, is pleased to announce that it will offer a PhD top-up scholarship to a PhD candidate who holds an APA, IPA, MRS or MIRS and who is working in the field of Australian Literary or Theatre Studies.  The scholarship will commence in 2014 and is valued at $5000 per year for three years’ doctoral candidature.  For more information, visit

The Australian Centre is pleased to announce that the 2014 Vincent Buckley Poetry Prize is now open to Australian poets.  The approximately AUD$10,000 prize will facilitate a trip to Ireland.  Applications must be received by close of business Friday 29 November 2013.

For guidelines, and to apply, download the 2014 Vincent Buckley Poetry Prize application form available at

The 457 Prize in Poetry is presented by The Australian Centre, University of Melbourne; Australian Poetry; Lines to Time and The Social Studio.

Poetry and politics have always been connected: poems have been commissioned for public events by politicians; poems are written about political events, both as praise and blame; poems and politics both have inventive uses of language at their core.  This competition revivifies these ancient links between poetry and politics by calling for submissions on a topic that draws together many different and pressing political issues of the present: the 457 visa for skilled immigrants.

All applications must be received not later than COB on Friday 18 October 2013.

For details please go to:

The Magarey Medal for Biography is a biennial prize of at least $10,000.  The prize is awarded to the female author who has published the work judged to be the best biographical writing on an Australian subject in the preceding two years.  The awarding of the prize is administered and judged by a panel set up by the Association for the Study of Australian Literature and the Australian Historical Association. The prize is very generously donated by Professor Emerita Susan Magarey.

Nominations are invited for a published biography in the form of a book on an Australian subject published in 2012 or 2013 by a female author.  Nominations may be made either by the author or, with the nominee’s permission, by the book’s publishers or by any member of the Australian Historical Association or the Association for the Study of Australian Literature.

Send entries to Magarey Medal for Biography c/o- Department of Arts Communication and Enquiry, HU 2, La Trobe University Vic 3086 by 1 December 2013.

Entries must be accompanied by a letter of nomination, giving author’s full name and postal address (where applicable, institutional address preferred).  Nominations should be sent with three (3) copies of the nominated book.  Note that books will not be returned.

For more information about the Medal, please go to

Next Page »